

Lim Hock San reappointed Chairman of NCPG

The government has reappointed Mr Lim Hock San as Chairman of the National Council on Problem Gambling for another two years from August 31, 2013.

23 Aug 2013 2:57 PM



The National Council on Problem Gambling.

SINGAPORE: The government has reappointed Mr Lim Hock San as Chairman of the National Council on Problem Gambling (NCPG) for another two years from August 31, 2013.

It has also reappointed eight other existing members and appointed seven new members.

Announcing this, the Ministry of Social and Family Development said the new committee comprises members with a range of expertise in psychiatry, psychology, social services, legal, rehabilitative services and counselling.

The members who have been reappointed are Professor David Chan, Mr Goh Joon Seng, Dr Lim Yun Chin, Associate Professor Fred Long Foo Yee, Nr Ng Seng Liang, Dr Andrew Peh Lai Huat, Mr Gerald Singham and Mr Tan Kian Hoon.



The new members are Mr Amrin Amin, Mr Kua Soon Khe, Ms Annie Lee, Mr Ling Kin Huat, Mdm Teo Lin Lee, Mr P Thirunal Karasu, and Professor Brenda Yeoh.

Four members of the council are stepping down after serving six to eight years each. They are Dr Bibi Jan Mohamed Ayyub, Mr Joachim Lee, Venerable Seck Kwang Phing and Mr Tan Thiam Lye.

The council, which first convened in August 2005, provides advice and feedback to the government on social concerns relating to problem gambling in Singapore.

It also plays a key role in supporting and implementing programmes on public education and outreach, stakeholder consultation, responsible gambling, research, and prevention and treatment services for problem gamblers and their families.

In addition, the council oversees the application and execution of casino exclusions and casino visit limits in accordance with the Casino Control Act.

- CNA/fa