SMU

Publication: The Business Times Weekend, p 14 Date: 21 December 2013 Headline: Board changes at STB, CCS, JTC, A*Star on Jan 1



CALLED TO SERVE CapitaLand president and CEO Lim Ming Yan (left) will join the STB board, while PwC executive chairman Yeoh Oon Jin has been reappointed to the JTC board. FILE PHOTOS

Board changes at STB, CCS, JTC, A*Star on Jan 1

By Nisha Ramchandani nishar@sph.com.sg

THE Singapore Tourism Board (STB), Competition Commission of Singapore (CCS), JTC Corporation (JTC) and the Agency for Science, Technology and Research (A*Star) will all see changes to their boards on Jan 1.

In a press release yesterday, the Ministry of Trade and Industry (MTI) announced three new appointments to the STB board as well as three reappointments. Alvin Lim, divisional director (workplace policy & strategy division) at the Ministry of Manpower, CapitaLand group president and chief executive Lim Ming Yan as well as Urban Redevelopment Authority (URA) chief executive officer Ng Lang will join the STB board at the beginning of next year.

Current STB chairman Chew Choon Seng (who also chairs the board of the Singapore Exchange) as well as two other board members - Levi Strauss & Co's president (Asia Pacific) Aaron Boey and Far East Orchard director Diana Ee-Tan - have been reappointed. Meanwhile, current board members Aubeck Kam, permanent secretary, Ministry of Communications and Information, and Michael Koh will both step down from the STB board on Dec 31.

Mr Kam will join the CCS board as a new member, while Tan Ching Yee, permanent secretary of the Ministry of Health, will step down.

Current CCS chairman Lam Chuan Leong and five other board members have been reappointed. The five board members are the Infocomm Development Authority's (IDA) deputy director-general (telecoms & post), Aileen Chia; the Monetary Authority of Singapore's (MAS) deputy managing director (corporate development), Andrew Khoo Cheng Hoe; Phang Sock Yong of Singapore Management University (SMU); Tan Cheng Han of National University of Singapore (NUS); and Wong Yew Meng, a former audit partner at PricewaterhouseCoopers (PwC).

Over at JTC, two current members - former managing director of the Government of Singapore Investment Corporation (GIC) Chen Soon Bin, and PwC executive chairman Yeoh Oon Jin - have been reappointed to the board while Heng Chye Kiang, dean of the NUS School of Design and Environment, will step down from the JTC board on Dec 31. Finally, William Chin, executive vice-president (scientific and regulatory affairs) of Pharmaceutical Research and Manufacturers of America, has been reappointed a member of the A*Star board.

Source: The Business Times Weekend © Singapore Press Holdings Limited. Permission required for reproduction.