Publication: The Straits Times, p B13

**Date: 31 March 2015** 

Headline: MTI makes changes at five statutory boards







Mr Loh Khum Yean (left) has been reappointed chairman of the Energy Market Authority board, which will have four new members. The Sentosa Development Corporation board, chaired by Mr Moses Lee (centre), will get two new members while a new appointment has been made to the Spring Singapore board, where Mr Philip Yeo (right) has been reappointed as chairman.

## MTI makes changes at five statutory boards

THE Ministry of Trade and Industry announced appointment changes at five statutory boards yesterday.

Mr Loh Khum Yean will be reappointed chairman of the Energy Market Authority (EMA) board.

Four new members will also be appointed to the board: EMA chief executive Ng Wai Choong, Rajah and Tann senior partner Andre Yeap Poh Leong, Mr Russell Tham Min Yew, corporate vice-president of Applied Materials and regional president of the South-east Asia and Global Merger Planning Team, and Singapore Management University economics professor Phang Sock Yong.

These four will replace three outgoing members: Rajah and Tann managing partner Lee Eng Beng, Micron Semiconductor Asia managing director Lee Kok Choy and Professor Euston Quah, head of the economics division at Nanyang Technological University.

Mr Moses Lee will remain board chairman of the Sentosa Development Corporation.

The board is also getting two new members: RDC Architects director Rita Soh Siow Lan and Mr Eugene Leong Chee Gin, senior director of strategic planning at the Ministry of National Development.

They will replace Mr Christopher Fossick, Jones Lang LaSalle managing director for Singapore and South-east Asia, and Mr Kevin Shum Jin-Chyi, deputy secretary (international) at the Ministry of Transport.

At Spring Singapore, Mr Philip Yeo will be reappointed as board chairman.

Ernst & Young partner Christopher Wong will also join the board, taking the place of current member Mak Keat Meng, partner and head of assurance at Ernst & Young.

A\*Star will gain two members:

Mr Yee Ping Yi, designate deputy secretary for policy at the Ministry of Finance, and Ms Tan Li San, deputy secretary for industry and information at the Ministry of Communications and Information.

Finally, Makino Asia president and chief executive Moh Chong Tau has been appointed to the board of JTC Corporation.

Separately, the Minister of Finance has appointed Deloitte Singapore chairman Chaly Mah as deputy chairman of the Singapore Accountancy Commission.

The board has also acquired two new members, namely Baker Tilly TFW managing partner Sim Guan Seng and Mr Yee of the Ministry of Finance, whose appointment is in addition to his place on the board of A\*Star.

All appointments will take effect tomorrow apart from the appointment of Dr Moh, which took effect on March 1.