Publication: Red Sports Date: 21 March 2014

Headline: Singapore Universities Rugby 15s: SMU edge out NTU 6-5 to clinch championship after five-

year wait

Singapore Universities Rugby 15s: SMU edge out NTU 6-5 to clinch championship after five-year wait

By Lim Yong Teck and Matthew Lau/Red Sports



An NTU player tackles an SMU player. SMU held on for the 6–5 victory. (Photo 1 © Lim Yong Teck/Red Sports)

Nanyang Technological University, Thursday, March 20, 2014 — Singapore Management University (SMU) edged out Nanyang Technological University (NTU) 6–5 to clinch the Singapore Universities Rugby 15s Championship, ending a five-year drought. SMU last won the championship in 2009.

SMU and NTU both met previously in the group stages, where NTU emerged victors with a score of 21–6.

SMU's Brandon Yow (#25) and Blandon Tan (#74) scored a penalty each, while Daniel Lum (#12) scored a try for NTU. All scoring came in the first half.

SMU captain, Jesse Quek (#99), commented, "It was a massive win. The boys and the coaches deserve every bit of it. As a team, if we stuck to the game plan, we will win. Our discipline caused our downfall in the previous group stage game against NTU. Today,

Publication: Red Sports Date: 21 March 2014

Headline: Singapore Universities Rugby 15s: SMU edge out NTU 6-5 to clinch championship after five-

year wait

everyone was disciplined and gave it their all. I want to dedicate the win to the SMU's Office of Student Life."

Scoring by Half

Nanyang Technological University vs Singapore Management University

First half: 5–6

Second half: 0-0 (5-6)

Scorers

Nanyang Technological University

Lum Jun Kit Daniel (#12) – 1 try

Singapore Management University

Brandon Yow Jie Wei (#25) – 1 penalty

Blandon Tan (#74) – 1 penalty

Nanyang Technological University Roster

Muhammad Muzamir Tan Bin Khamis Tan (#1), Muhammad Luqman Bin Rahmandin Hamdan (#2), Tan Wei Kann (#3), Alexander Jamer Horton (#4), Goh Qi Ming Alex (#5), Mak Jian Min Edwin (#6), Rajpal Singh Kang (#7), Muhammad Shazwan Bin Mohd Hafiz (#8), Daniel Kaijun Chong (#9), Sin Yixiang Shannon (#10), Wong Xuan Wei Kenn (#11), Lum Jun Kit Daniel (#12), Chew Kheng Ping Gerald (#13), Hoe Mun Jun Jasden (#14), Chan Mingqi (#15), Muhammad Hilmi Bin Affandi (#16), Jacob Baldwin (#17), Shaun Sin (#18), Daniel Chua Bao Xiang (#19), Tan Shou Min Darryl (#20), Abdul Wafa Bin Abdul Nazhar (#21), Teo Jun Bin Edmund (#22), Aloysius Teo Weizhen (#23), Corey Mark Dennis (#24), Teo Boon Rong (#25), Ng Chung Jun Bryan (#26), Syeh Muhammad Hafiz Bin Sahrum (#27), Matthew Beaglehole (#28)

Singapore Management University Roster

Ronald Cher Song Sern (#2), Eric Ong Soon Hwng (#3), Ahmad Isa Bin Taha (#4), Bryan Lim Kai Yao (#7), Shaun Ng Tian Ci (#8), Wong Kah Wei (#9), Sum Yiing Yang (#10), Shaneet Nityanand Rai (#12), Timothy Gay Zhiwen (#13), Josh Russell Cason (#14), Elijah Tan (#15), Chaw Wei Arng (#16), Benjamin Choy Ren Xiang (#17), Gabriel Ang Heng Hu (#18), Ian Gan Jian Kai (#19), Ang Yuan Wei Marcus (#20), Koh Ken Hwa (#21), Vignesh Krishnan (#22), Tang Hon Wei (#24), Brandon Yow Jie Wei (#25), Daniel Joshua Lee Wei Hu (#26), Kelly Tan Qiao Hui (#27), Marc Daniel Wilson (#28), Ng Chun Yang (#29), Avinash Vardza Raju (#30), Stuart Ho Wei Lee (#31), Harresh Krishnan (#44), Blandon Tan (#74), Jesse Quek Renqian (#99)