New board members at CRA and bodies under MTI and MOF

By Prisca Ang

prisang@sph.com.sg Singapore

A NUMBER of government and regulatory agencies have announced changes to their boards.

The Casino Regulatory Authority (CRA) has named former Shell executive Lee Tzu Yang as its chairman.

Currently on the board as deputy chairman, he will assume his new role on Thursday, taking over from Richard Magnus, who has served as chairman for seven years.

Meanwhile, the Ministry of Trade and Industry (MTI) has announced several changes to the boards in five of its statutory boards, namely the Energy Market Authority (EMA), Sentosa Development Corporation (SDC), Spring Singapore, Agency for Science, Technology and Research (A*Star) and JTC Corporation (JTC).

The EMA will have four new appointments:

■ Ng Wai Choong, chief executive of EMA;

■ Andre Yeap Poh Leong, SC, senior partner at Rajah and Tann;

■ Russell Tham Min Yew, regional president and corporate vice-president of Applied Materials Inc; and

■ Phang Sock Yong, Celia Moh Professor and professor of economics at Singapore Management University.

They replace three members who will step down.

Loh Khum Yean will be re-appointed chairman of the board; Chang Meng Teng, chairman of Squire Mech, will also be re-appointed as board member for another term.

Over at SDC, two new board members will be appointed – Rita Soh Siow Lan, director of RDC Architects, and Eugene Leong Chee Gin, senior director of strategic planning at the Ministry of National Development.

Ms Soh is a Nominated Member of Parliament, and the president of the Board of Architects Singapore.

Mr Leong has previously served in MTI, the Ministry of Community, Youth and Sports and the Ministry of Defence.

Four existing board members will be re-appointed:

■ Kwa Kim Li, managing partner at Lee & Lee;

■ Keith Yu-Jene Magnus, CEO and executive director at Evercore Asia (Sin-



Mr Lee Tzu Yang moves from deputy chairman to board chairman at the Casino Regulatory Authority.

 Satvinder Singh, assistant CEO of International Enterprise Singapore;
Lim Kok Kiang, assistant managing director of cluster group engineering at Economic Development Board;

■ Renny Yeo, independent director at OEL (Holdings);

■ Saktiandi Supaat, head of global markets FX research at Maybank;

Mike Booker, partner in Bain & Company's South-east Asia practice;

Two new members have been appointed to the board of A*Star – Tan Li San and Yee Ping Yi.

Ms Tan is the deputy secretary (Industry and Information) at the Ministry of Communications and Information; Mr Yee will be made deputy secretary (Policy) at the Ministry of Finance (MOF) this week. He was previously chief executive of the Central Provident Fund (CPF) Board.

Board appointments at EMA, SDC, Spring and A*Star take effect on Wednesday.

At JTC, Moh Chong Tau, president and CEO of of Makino Asia, was appointed to the board on March 1. He is also a Fellow of CPA Australia, and received Singapore's Public Service Medal in 2010.

MOF has appointed Deloitte CEO

gapore);

■ Chaly Mah, CEO of Deloitte Asia-Pacific;

■ Ngiam Shih Chun, Deputy Secretary (Industry) at MTI.

Moses Lee will be re-appointed as chairman of the board.

At Spring, Christopher Wong, assurance partner at Ernst & Young, will be appointed to the board.

He replaces his colleague Mak Keat Meng, partner and head of assurance at Ernst & Young, who steps down on Tuesday.

Six board members will be re-appointed:

■ Andrew Kwan, group managing director of Commonwealth Capital;

Chaly Mah as deputy chairman of the board of the Singapore Accountancy Commission (SAC).

Two new members also appointed to the SAC board are Mr Yee Ping Yi, and Sim Guan Seng, managing partner at Baker Tilly TFW.

Michael Lim, chairman of the Land Transport Authority and Nomura Singapore, has been re-appointed chairman of SAC.

Eleven members have also been re-appointed to the SAC, including Singapore Exchange chief financial officer Chng Lay Chew, Temasek Holdings chief financial officer Leong Wai Leng and chief executive of SAC Uantchern Loh.

Source: The Business Times © Singapore Press Holdings Limited. Permission required for reproduction.