SMU School of Law – International moot competition achievements (From Academic Year 2009-10 to 1 June 2018)

Summary:

As at 1 June 2018, SMU's overall tally in international moot competitions stands at **23 championships, 22 first-runners-up titles, and 18 second-runners-up titles**. SMU's International Moots Programme commenced in 2010.

International moot competition	Organiser	Achievement
International Air Law Moot Court Competition	International Institute of Air and Space Law of Leiden University in the Netherlands, Sarin Memorial Legal Aid Foundation from India and Incheon International Airport Corporation in South Korea	AY2017-18 runner-up (debut)
Allen & Overy Private Law Competition (previously <u>Ashurst</u> <u>Private Law Moot Competition)</u>	University of New South Wales Law Society	AY2015-16 runner-up, AY 2016-17 semi-finalist, AY2017-18 semi-finalist
3. Asia Cup International Moot Competition	Japanese Society of International Law and the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Japan	AY2010-11 champion, AY2011-12 champion, AY2012-13 runner-up, AY2013-14 runner-up, AY2014-15 champion, AY2015-16 runner-up
Asian Law Students' Association Moot Competition	Asian Law Students Association	AY2009-10 runner-up, AY2013-14 champion, AY2016-17 champion [Note: SMU has the best track record in this competition.]
5. <u>D.M. Harish International Moot Court Competition</u>	Government Law College	AY2014-15 semi-finalist; AY2015-16 octo-finalist
6. Fletcher Insolvency Moot	Queensland University of Technology, INSOL International and International Insolvency Institute	AY2016-17 champion (debut), AY 2017-18 semi-finalist [Note: SMU has the best track record in this competition.]

Annex 1

Frankfurt Investment Arbitration Moot Court Competition Hague Choice of Court Convention Moot Competition	Wilhelm Merton Centre for European Integration and International Economic Order of Johann Wolfgang Goethe University, Frankfurt am Main Hague Conference Asia Pacific Regional Office	AY2014-15 runner-up, AY2016-17 champion, AY2017-18 quarter-finalist AY2014-15 champion
9. International Criminal Court Moot Court Competition	Grotius Centre for International Legal Studies	AY2014-15 champion, AY2015-16 champion, AY2016-2017 runner-up, AY2017-18 champion [Note: SMU is the first university to successfully defend its championship in a major international moot. SMU also has the best track record in this competition.]
10. <u>International Maritime Law</u> <u>Arbitration Moot</u>	Murdoch University	AY2012-13 quarter-finalist, AY2016-17runner-up, AY2017-18 semi-finalist
11.Philip C. Jessup International Moot Court Competition	International Law Students Association	AY2010-11 exhibition champion, AY2011-12 exhibition champion, AY2012-13 runner-up, AY2013-14 runner-up, AY2014-15 16 th -finalist, AY2016-17 octo-finalist, AY2017-18 national round champion
12. <u>LawAsia International Moot</u> <u>Competition</u>	LAWASIA	AY2009-10 runner-up, AY2011-12 runner-up, AY2012-13 runner-up, AY2013-14 champion, AY2014-15 champion, AY2015-16 semi-finalist, AY2016-17 champion, AY2017-18 champion [Note: SMU has the best track record in this competition.]
13. Moot Shanghai (a Vis pre-moot)	Shanghai Bar Association	AY2013-14 runner-up
14.AIAC Moot (a Vis pre-moot)	Asian International Arbitration Centre (previously Kuala Lumpur Regional Arbitration Centre)	AY2017-18 octo-finalist

Annex 1

15. Monroe E. Price Media Law Moot Court Competition	University of Oxford	AY2009-10 champion, AY2011-12 quarter-finalist, AY2012-13 semi-finalist, AY2013-14 quarter-finalist, AY2014-15 runner-up, AY2015-16 champion, AY2016-17 champion, AY2017-18 runner-up [Note: SMU has the best track record in this competition.]
16.Red Cross International Humanitarian Law Moot	Hong Kong Red Cross	AY2009-10 semi-finalist, AY2010-11 semi-finalist, AY2012-13 semi-finalist, AY2013-14 semi-finalist, AY2014-15 quarter-finalist, AY2015-16 runner-up, AY2017-18 semi-finalist
17. Willem C. Vis International Commercial Arbitration Moot	Association for the Organisation and Promotion of the Willem C. Vis International Commercial Arbitration Moot	AY2011-12 16 th -finalist, AY 2012-13 16 th -finalist, AY2013-14 32 nd -finalist, AY2014-15 runner-up, AY2015-16 runner-up, AY2016-17 32 nd -finalist, AY 2017-18 32 nd -finalist
18. Willem C. Vis (East) International Commercial Arbitration Moot	A sister moot to the Willem C. Vis International Commercial Arbitration Moot	AY2011-12 octo-finalist, AY2012-13 Asia-Pacific runner-up, AY2013-14 16 th -finalist, AY2014-15 champion, AY 2015-16 runner-up, AY2017-18 semi-finalist [*Note: SMU is the first law school in the world to ever reach the finals of both Vis moots in two consecutive years.]
19.International Law Competition Youth for Peace	International University Mitso	AY2010-11 champion
20.WTO/FTA Moot	Co-hosted by the South Korean Ministry of Trade, Industry and Energy (MOTIE), and the Korean Society of International Economic Law	AY2015-16 champion
21.Pan-Asian Human Rights	University of Hong Kong	AY2016-17 semi-finalist
22.Nuremberg	International Nuremberg Principles Academy	AY2016-17 semi-finalist

AY = Academic Year